5k Parkrun Marlay Park

About 2 weeks ago I joined Parkrun. It’s a free timed 5k run that happens on Saturday morning at 9:30am in local parks around the world (mostly UK & Ireland). To join it, you go to http://www.parkrun.ie, register yourself & your legs, you get a barcode which you print off & bring to the event on the day, run your little socks off & bobs your uncle!

I arrived Saturday morning of 2nd March, this was the first unofficial run of Parkrun Marlay (Marlay Park, Dublin), there was 14 runners in total. This was my first experience of a group run & I came in 14th. 14th / last place is ok, it means I can only do better next time…

Image

So this Saturday (9th March), I rocked up to Parkrun. There was visibly more people than had been there the previous week, there was 356 more people than the previous week. These people looked amazing, proper runners, the sort of people who can walk faster than I could ever run. I was in complete awe of them…and I had a sinking feeling I wouldn’t do better than 14th this week! This Parkrun actually had a world record breaking number of people taking part (In your face Newbury), I was just so happy to be a part of it & lets hope it continues!

Image

So anyway, I went about my running business. It was a cold rainy morning & one by one, people were passing me by, ‘this is ok’ I thought to myself, ‘you’re moving & that’s the important thing’. Each kilometer was passing quicker & muddier than the previous week, & at points I was actually passing others out, if I’m honest, this was an awesome feeling because I’ve never out ran someone before…its the little (sad) victories.

Image

The last kilometer was in sight & before I knew it, I had finished the 5k! I knew I’d not done better than 14th, I actually came in 339th…but this is cool because I knocked another minute & a half off my 5k. This. Is. Progression. I’m really hoping to do this 10k in 1 hour so every second I can knock off my time is just great 🙂

PS: here’s the Marlay Parkrun Facebook page, you should really give it a like…oh, get involved too!

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Marlay-parkrun/146693202152615?fref=ts

Image

3 comments

  1. Linda,
    Nice article and thanks for your support.
    Could I suggest that you have a look at this post on the DSDAC website.
    http://www.dsdac.com/2013/dsdac-mini-marathon-training-2013.html
    If your thinking of training for a 10km its ideal and its based out of Marlay Park from April 9th.

  2. Thanks for the great article.
    You might enjoy our WMM Training in DSDAC Starting April 9th.
    http://www.dsdac.com/2013/dsdac-mini-marathon-training-2013.html

  3. This is great, I might just have to do this! Thanks!

Leave a comment